Eagle-Eye Photo Contest Winning Entries

20.06.2015 — 30.08.2015

Trevor Paglen and a jury of experts (Franziska Nori, Ditmar Schädel, Nils Bremer, and Luminita Sabau) have selected the photo competition’s five best entries.

The five winners are Florian Freier, Kerstin Matijasevic, Alessandra Schnellnegger, Dieter Schwer and Julian Slagman. Trevor Paglen presented the winners with a certificate at 8.30 pm at the opening reception (June 19, 2015). The photographs were featured in the exhibition Trevor Paglen: The Octopus.

The jurors based their decisions on criteria that included the success of the approach to the topic „Landscapes of Surveillance“ and the aesthetic quality of the photography submitted. Furthermore, the jurors took the technical and formal execution of the projects and the research conducted in their preliminary stages into consideration.

The different artistic approaches with which the participants individually addressed the topic ultimately convinced the jury to honor five entries instead of three. Because of wide reception among international participants and the high quality of the submissions, the Frankfurter Kunstverein, together with the jury, has decided to present all of the other entries in a dossier in the exhibition.