Tatsuo Miyajima, “Life face, vol. 1”, 1990

Embosed printing, hand coloured, Unique, signed

58 x 77 cm

Edition 50

600€ (incl. VAT plus shipping costs)

Exlusively for members

The Japanese artist Tatsuo Miyajima (born 1957) studied at the Tokyo National University of Fine Arts and Music and has spent some time in New York, Berlin and Paris on several scholarships. His works have been shown in numerous solo and group exhibitions and are part of several large collections. In the early 1980s, Tatsuo Miyajima staged performances in which, for example, he went into the park in Yokohama, made a loud scream and had the reactions of the surprised passers-by recorded on video. This mixture of direct communicative appeals to the audience on the one hand and conceptual impact calculation on the other is not only remarkable in Miyajima’s early works, but also in those light-emitting diode installations that made the artist internationally known after his participation in “Aperto” in Venice in 1988. His number displays of light-emitting diodes show the numbers 1 to 9 and 9 to 1 in constant sequence. The endless repetition of the numbers serves as an indication of the infinite cycle of life. The zero as a symbol of the absolute, but also of nothingness and standstill is left out. Just as every human being has an individual lifetime, the luminous counters also have their own time rhythm. Counting becomes a metaphor for dealing with the basic questions of human existence, with time and space, life and death. Three leitmotifs, which have their origin in the philosophy of Buddhism, characterize Miyajima’s work: “Everything is constantly changing, everything is connected with each other, everything exists eternally.”



    Order options:

    Package shipping Germany & Europe (Shipping method, delivery charges & conditions: The order will be delivered by Deutsche Post (DHL or other providers) and is insured. The amount of the delivery charges depends on the size of the editions. The order value consists of the merchandise value plus a flatrate for postage and packing. There is no minimum order value) Personal pickup (You can pick up your order on site during the opening hours of the FKV)

    Delivery address (if different from billing address):

    Payment option:

    Prepayment (The ordered item must be paid for in advance. Upon ordering, you will receive your invoice via email with our bank account information and your order number. Please transfer the sum to our account as soon as possible because the ordered items will first be shipped upon receipt of payment. If you pick up your order on site, you can also pay cash or by EC card)

Tatsuo Miyajima, „Life face, vol. 1“, 1990

Prägedruck, handcoloriert

50 x 80 cm

Auflage 50

600€ (Einzelpreis inkl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten )

Exklusiv für Mitglieder

Der japanische Künstler Tatsuo Miyajima (geb. 1957) studierte an der Tokyo National University of Fine Arts and Music und hat im Zuge mehrerer Stipendien einige Zeit in New York, Berlin und Paris verbracht. Seine Werke wurden in zahlreichen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen gezeigt und sind Bestandteil einiger großer Sammlungen. Anfang der 1980er Jahre führte Tatsuo Miyajima Performances auf, in denen er zum Beispiel in den Park von Yokohama ging, einen lauten Schrei von sich gab und die Reaktionen der überraschten Passanten auf Video aufzeichnen ließ. Diese Mischung aus einerseits direkt kommunikativen Appellen ans Publikum und andererseits konzeptuellem Wirkungskalkül ist nicht nur in den frühen Arbeiten Miyajimas bemerkenswert, sondern auch in jenen Leuchtdioden-Installationen, die den Künstler nach seiner Teilnahme an „Aperto“ 1988 in Venedig international bekannt machten. Seine Zahlendisplays aus Licht emittierenden Dioden zeigen die Ziffern 1 bis 9 bzw. 9 bis 1 in ständiger Abfolge. Die endlose Wiederholung der Zahlen dient als Hinweis auf den unendlichen Kreislauf des Lebens. Die Null als Symbol des Absoluten, aber auch des Nichts und des Stillstands bleibt ausgespart. So wie jeder Mensch eine individuelle Lebenszeit hat, so besitzen auch die leuchtenden Zählwerke ihren eigenen Zeitrhythmus. Das Zählen wird zur Metapher für die Auseinandersetzung mit den Grundfragen des menschlichen Daseins, mit Zeit und Raum, Leben und Tod. Drei Leitmotive, welche ihren Ursprung in der Philosophie des Buddhismus haben, prägen Miyajimas Werk: „Alles verändert sich ständig, alles ist miteinander verbunden, alles besteht ewig.“

    VersandSelbstabholung

    Lieferadresse (falls abweichend von Rechnungsadresse):



    Bezahlung und Versand:

    Bezahlung

    Die bestellte Ware ist ausschließlich per Vorkasse zu bezahlen. Bei einer Bestellung erhalten Sie per E-Mail Ihre Rechnung und unsere Kontodaten. Bitte überweisen Sie den angegebenen Betrag kurzfristig auf unser Konto, da die bestellte Ware erst nach Zahlungseingang geliefert wird. Vor Ort können Sie auch bar oder mit EC-Karte bezahlen.

    Versandart:

    Die Lieferung erfolgt mit der Deutschen Post oder anderen vergleichbaren Anbietern. Sie können alle Artikel auch persönlich abholen. Die Bestellung wird durch die Deutsche Post (DHL) geliefert.

    Versandkosten & Lieferkonditionen:

    Es gibt keinen Mindestbestellwert. Der Bestellwert besteht aus dem Warenwert zzgl. dem Porto und Verpackungskosten. Wir besprechen gerne mit Ihnen, welche Versandart für Sie die beste und günstigste ist.