Marshmallow Laser Feast

Trehugger: Wawona, 2017
VR experience and installation
Concept by Marshmallow Laser Feast
Team: Barney Steel ,Ersin Han Ersin, Robin McNicholas (direction), Mileece Ianson, Natan Sinigaglia (collaborating artists)
Scientific advice by Natural History Museum, London, University of Salford, PNY, 3Dception, Macaulay Library, Cornell Lab of Ornithology, Ithaca
Treehugger: Wawona is commissioned by Cinekid Foundation, STRP, Southbank Centre and Migrations.

Courtesy Marshmallow Laser Feast

Marshmallow Laser Feast (MLF) is a London-based collective of artists working at the intersection of science, art and technology, using a range of creative disciplines from installation to kinetic sculpture, film and live performance.

Much of their work explores human perception through the use of innovative technologies. With Treehugger: Wawona, the collective produced a multimedia virtual reality installation that focuses on a giant sequoia (Sequoiadendron giganteum), one of the oldest trees on the planet. Visitors put on the data glasses and change the human perspective to follow the metabolic cycle of a drop of water on its way into the ground and from there into the roots to the tree crown.

The giant sequoias in Northern California reach a size and age where human imagination reaches its limit. They are the largest single organisms on earth. They can grow taller than a ten-storey building and live for more than three thousand years. The more we know about them, the more questions arise. The fascination of these special creatures has inspired numerous authors. Richard Powers’ novel The Overstory (2018), in which trees become the protagonists of a cross-species plot, is particularly groundbreaking.

The giant sequoia from Treehugger: Wawona is a real tree in Sequoia National Park in California, USA. Wawona is the native American word of the local Miwok for “hoot of an owl” and onomatopoeically imitates the sound of the spotted owl, which is considered the spiritual guardian of the tree.

In collaboration with leading researchers from the London Natural History Museum and the University of Salford, Treehugger: Wawona used a combination of the three-dimensional laser scanning system LIDAR, white light and CT scanning to create high-resolution textures. The digital representation creates a distortion of the usual human perception of space and time and makes the invisible visible. For Treehugger: Wawona, scientific data was used to create a graphic simulation of how water and carbon dioxide flow through the tree. In the VR experience, users experience the metabolic processes taking place in the tree in a temporally accelerated way. Through the power of immersive technology, an experience can take place in which the user overcomes the limitations of their own human body to empathise with that of the tree. A transfer of experience can take place, an empathic transference of the self to another being.

The soundscape extends the scientific data by acoustically reproducing the vascular system of the tree. The capture of biosignals was generated via the representation of data into sounds via hardware and software co-developed by sound artist and environmental designer Mileece I’Anson. The bioacoustics of the Sequoia National Park are audibly represented via a binaural soundscape of the tree – this is created when a separate sound with a slightly different frequency hits each ear. For this, the soundtrack of birds, insects, amphibians, rain and wind was mixed in a sound weave to create an immersive sound field in which visitors can move around.

One of the concerns of Marshmallow Laser Feast, in the face of an increasingly urgent ecological situation, is to help people leave their anthropocentric view and, thanks to their artistic work, put themselves in the place of another, non-human being.

Marshmallow Laser Feast (MLF) is a collective based in London (UK) collaborating with artists, engineers and scientists, building bespoke software and hardware systems to realise their visions. MLF has designed and directed We Live in an Ocean of Air (2018) and In The Eyes Of The Animal (2016), which won the Wired Innovation Award. Most recently they won the Tribeca Storyscapes Award for Innovation in Storytelling at the Tribeca Film Festival (US) and Best VR Film Prize at VR Arles Festival (FR) for TreeHugger: Wawona. Their work has been exhibited around the world including Lisbon Trienniale, Lisbon (PT), STRP Biennial, Eindhoven (NL), Yamaguchi Center for Arts and Media, Yamaguchi (JP), Sundance Film Festival, Park City (US), Tribeca Film Festival, New York City (US), Barbican Center, London (UK) and Istanbul Design Biennial, Istanbul (TR).

Marshmallow Laser Feast

Trehugger: Wawona, 2017
VR-Erfahrung und Installation
Konzept von Marshmallow Laser Feast
Team: Barney Steel ,Ersin Han Ersin, Robin McNicholas (Regie), Mileece Ianson, Natan Sinigaglia (Kollaborierende Künstler*innen)
Wissenschaftliche Beratung durch Natural History Museum, London, University of Salford, PNY, 3Dception, Macaulay Library, Cornell Lab of Ornithology, Ithaca
Treehugger: Wawona is eine Auftragsarbeit der Cinekid Foundation, STRP, Southbank Centre und Migrations

Courtesy Marshmallow Laser Feast

Marshmallow Laser Feast (MLF) ist ein Künstler*innenkollektiv aus London, das an der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaft, Kunst und Technologie arbeitet und dabei zahlreiche kreative Disziplinen einsetzt, von Installationen über kinetische Skulpturen und Filme bis hin zu Live-Performances.

In vielen ihrer Arbeiten erforschen sie die menschliche Wahrnehmung durch den Einsatz innovativer Technologien. Mit Treehugger: Wawona produzierte das Kollektiv eine multimediale Virtual-Reality-Installation, bei der ein Riesenmammutbaum (Sequoiadendron giganteum), einer der ältesten Bäume des Planeten, im Mittelpunkt steht. Besucher*innen setzen die Datenbrille auf und wechseln die menschliche Perspektive, um einem Wassertropfen auf seinem Weg in den Boden und von dort in die Wurzeln, bis zur Baumkrone dem Stoffwechselkreislauf zu folgen.

Die Riesenmammutbäume in Nordkalifornien erreichen eine Größe und ein Alter, bei der die menschliche Vorstellungskraft an ihre Grenze gerät. Sie sind die größten Einzelorganismen der Erde. Sie können höher als ein zehnstöckiges Gebäude und mehr als dreitausend Jahre alt werden. Je mehr wir über sie wissen, desto mehr Fragen stellen sich. Die Faszination, die von diesen besonderen Lebewesen ausgeht, hat zahlreiche Autor*innen inspiriert. Besonders bahnbrechend ist hier Richard Powers Roman The Overstory (Die Wurzeln des Lebens, 2018), in dem Bäume zu Protagonisten einer artenübergreifenden Handlung werden.

Der Riesenmammutbaum aus Treehugger: Wawona steht real im Sequoia National Park in Kalifornien, USA. Wawona ist das native american Wort der ortsansässigen Miwok für „Eulenschrei“ und imitiert lautmalerisch den Klang des Fleckenkauzes, der als spiritueller Wächter des Baumes gilt.

In Zusammenarbeit mit führenden Forscher*innen des Londoner Naturkundemuseums und der Universität Salford wurden in Treehugger: Wawona unter Einsatz einer Kombination aus dem dreidimensionalen Laserscannsystem LIDAR, Weißlicht und CT-Scanning hochauflösende Texturen erzeugt. Die digitale Darstellung erzeugt eine Verzerrung des gewohnten menschlichen Raum- und Zeitempfindens und macht das Unsichtbare sichtbar. Für Treehugger: Wawona wurde anhand von wissenschaftlichen Daten eine grafische Simulation erstellt, wie Wasser und Kohlendioxid durch den Baum fließen. In der VR-Erfahrung erleben Nutzer*innen in einer zeitlich beschleunigten Weise die im Baum stattfindenden Stoffwechselprozesse. Durch die Kraft der immersiven Technik kann ein Erlebnis stattfinden, bei dem der/die Nutzer*in die Grenzen des eigenen menschlichen Körpers überwindet, um sich in den des Baumes hineinzuempfinden. Es kann ein Transfer des Erlebens stattfinden, eine empathische Übertragung des Ichs auf ein anderes Wesen.

Die Klanglandschaft erweitert die wissenschaftlichen Daten, indem sie das Gefäßsystem des Baumes akustisch widergibt. Die Erfassung von Biosignalen wurde über die Darstellung von Daten in Klänge über eine Hardware und Software erzeugt, die die Soundkünstlerin und Umweltdesignerin Mileece I’Anson mitentwickelt hat. Über eine binaurale Geräuschkulisse des Baums – diese entsteht, wenn auf jedes Ohr ein separater Ton mit leicht abweichender Frequenz trifft – wird die Bioakustik des Sequoia-Nationalparks hörbar dargestellt. Hierfür wurde in einer Klangverflechtung die Tonspur von Vögeln, Insekten, Amphibien, Regen und Wind vermischt, um ein immersives Klangfeld zu schaffen, in dem sich die Besucher*innen bewegen können.

Eines der Anliegen von Marshmallow Laser Feast angesichts einer immer dringlicheren ökologischen Lage, ist es dazu beizutragen, dass der Mensch seine anthropozentrische Sicht verlässt und dank der künstlerischen Arbeit sich in ein anderes, nicht menschliches Wesen hineinversetzt.

Marshmallow Laser Feast (MLF) ist ein Kollektiv mit Sitz in London (GB), das mit Künstler*innen, Ingenieur*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen zusammenarbeitet und maßgefertigte Software- und Hardwaresysteme zur Umsetzung ihrer Visionen entwickelt. MLF hat die Filme We Live in an Ocean of Air (2018) und In The Eyes Of The Animal (2016), das mit dem Wired Audi Innovation Award for Innovation in Experience Design ausgezeichnet wurde, entwickelt und realisiert. Zuletzt gewannen sie den Tribeca Storyscapes Award for Innovation in Storytelling beim Tribeca Film Festival (US) und den Best VR Film Prize beim VR Arles Festival (FR) für TreeHugger: Wawona. Ihre Arbeiten wurden weltweit ausgestellt, u. a. auf der Triennale von Lissabon (PT), der STRP Biennale in Eindhoven (NL), dem Yamaguchi Center for Arts and Media in Yamaguchi (JP), dem Sundance Film Festival in Park City (US), dem Tribeca Film Festival in New York City (US), dem Barbican Center in London (GB) und der Istanbul Design Biennial in Istanbul (TR).